2016 Was a Little Too Wild For Me

Why was 2016 wild? Well, there are many reasons. Let’s first look at the amount of people that died this year. I know, I know everyday people pass all the time, but if you really, really think about it, some of the most iconic people died in this glorious year of 2016.

We have:

  1. David Bowie
  2. Alan Rickman
  3. Doris Roberts
  4. Prince
  5. Mohamed Ali
  6. Anton Yelchin
  7. Gene Wilder
  8. Ron Glass
  9. John Glenn
  10. Alan Thicke
  11. George Micheal
  12. Carrie Fisher
  13. Debbie Reynolds
  14.  + many others

I mean jeez. Almost none of these deaths were of natural causes, that is the worst part of it all.

Now don’t get me started on the election and debate process between Donald Trump and Hillary Clinton. This election itself rebuilt a wall (no pun intended) between races in not just the US, but in the world. As if we all weren’t getting rid of the labels and stereotypes slowly, but surely. Trump’s words fueled a fire in all of us, and I watched as stereotypes and undercover racist (is what I like to call those who stayed quiet about their racism before Trump’s actions) came out of the shadows. On top all that, Trump actually managed to become president. God bless America. You’re gonna need it.

One of the worst things are all the natural disasters that occurred during this year. For example Haiti suffered another hurricane yet again. Not only that, recently the people of Aleppo were forced to leave their homes due to a war going on that has started form 2012 and still continues to this day.

Not to mention the 150,000 penguins that died not long ago because of an iceberg trapping their colony. Also, the many animals hunted by humans, or dead due to global warming.

People say that I should look at the bright side of earth, but it is so difficult when the things happening are so terrible. Living in North America, I notice that we often ignore larger problems than our own. We often forget that things still need to change contrary to things we see around us. My life may be all peaches and cream, but there is still a person out there lying in dust and grovel. So yes, there were a few things that might have been good about this year for you, but in my eyes there is still more work to be done. More people starving, children to donate to, and tigers to be saved.

To me I am glad for the life I was given, but I know in my head that there is still a little girl who will never get the chance I have received. So, I hope you can appreciate the things you were given this year, and remember that there is always more you can do to make earth at least 90% peaches and cream. I see 2016 as another year that a child may not get an education because of her gender, and that another aboriginal person was denied a request of the government. Things still need to change.

Thank you for reading. I hope this post made you cry. It may seem bad to say that, but I am being completely honest. Follow this blog here, or on Bloglovin’ if you’d like.

“I am not free while any woman is unfree, even when her shackles are very different from my own.” – Audre Lorde

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Here are some organizations to donate to:

Leave a Reply

